Open Letter…

Oh the days of being a kid. Do you remember? Maybe you remember some things about your childhood and some things you have forgotten. The long days of summer that felt endless. Meeting up with your friends and maybe riding your bike all through the neighborhood. I will never forget that time when I was about 10 and it was a hot summer day. We had spent most days riding our bikes for hours. There was this one house on my street. We called it the haunted house! We never saw anyone go in or out of it. It was surrounded by big huge hedges that circled the entire house, which of course made it look even scarier. Every time we would ride by that house, we would challenge each other to climb in a window and run through it. We would stop in front of the house and just stare at it. No one ever had enough courage to actually do it though. Except that one day!! There was five of us and we had been riding our bikes all day, and ended up in front of the “haunted house.” Josh ***** said he was going to do it! He was going to climb through the window and run through the house. Of course everyone egged him on and said, “no way… you’re chicken!” He got off his bike and made his way through the hedges. We all were right behind him because we had to make sure he was actually going to follow through with it. He first tried to see if he could open the front door but it was locked. Someone had noticed that a small window over the bathroom was slightly open. So he reached his hand in and was able to open it more. We all stood there watching to see if he was actually going to do it. He jumped right in the window. The house was dark and looked as if there had not been any life in it for quite some time. all of a sudden we heard him yell, then a big thump! We were all scared shi*less and frozen in our spots. No one wanted to move. finally about 5 minutes went by but it felt like 5 hours and he came flying out the window. He was breathing heavy and said “let’s get out of here right now!” That was enough for me, and in one flash we all booked it out of there so quick. We jumped on our bikes and kept on riding. We finally made it back to josh’s house. We were all out of breath, huffing and puffing, trying to find out what happened. He had said that when he entered the window, he figured it was just going to be an empty house but that isn’t what he found. He said that in the living room was a recliner chair set up with the back facing the hallway. He started to walk towards it and he saw something moving in the chair. He immediately turned around and started to head back to the window he came in but he felt the thing that was in the chair was right behind him. So he turned around and all of a sudden a cat jumped straight up in his arms. He yelled and lost his footing, falling backwards on the ground. The cat made some kind of weird hissing sound at him, and that was when he got up and flew back out the window. So the whole time he was scared because of a cat!! A CAT! This is a true story that happened in my childhood. I am grown up now with 4 kids of my own. I have never been to jail, and have never been in trouble with the law. I got pretty decent grades in school, and I write a silly mom blog that is basically nonsense. I started dating my husband when I was 14 years old. I am now 40. We grew up in the same neighborhood and are still hanging out together after all these years. When I think back to that time when I was a kid and did something really stupid, I often wonder why? Like why the hell do kids do stupid things. I really don’t have an answer for it. Having 4 kids myself, I have witnessed them all make mistakes and learn from them. I guess that is what life is all about. Screwing up and hopefully learning from it so that the next time around, you make a better choice. I remember many Halloweens when we would wake up to a toilet papered house and an egged car. WHY?? Who knows! Did you ever play ding dong door ditch when you were a kid? I did. I actually did a lot of phone pranks. I thought I was so cool because I would dial a number… we had a rotary phone back then…. and then they would answer and I would say something really lame and then hang up. Caller ID ruined that fun for most kids!

The reason I felt so compelled to share this story is because in my hometown, a child that was seventeen years old was gunned down this week. He was an exchange student from Germany. He was stealing some beer out of a person’s garage and the home owner filled him full of bullets. There is so much more to this story but the small simple fact is that this child will never be able to look back on his stupid mistake. He payed for it with his life! I have been following this story and I made the mistake of reading the comments and opinions on it. It made my stomach sick to see such a lack of caring for human life. So many people keep saying “He was trespassing and so he deserved it!” So many people saying that they would have shot and killed also.

First of all, I am NOT talking about a gun debate here. I could care less if someone chooses to own a gun or not. That is not what this is about. It’s about the fact that doesn’t anybody value human life? Anybody? It reminds me of the days when people would go out to watch gladiators kill each other and public hangings. Why is there no value on human life? Even if someone does steal your property… it’s just stuff! It means nothing. Have you ever watched hoarders? Those people have WAY too much stuff. Do they really need it all? So many people have lost stuff to natural disasters and fires. How many times have you ever heard someone say… I wish my family would have died in that fire instead of my stuff.

I am not a religious person. I know about the bible though because I was raised religious. Oddly enough… being a good catholic girl that went to a catholic school and sat in a church every Sunday didn’t keep me from doing some stupid things sometimes. And it had nothing to do with my parents because I usually didn’t act as stupid in front of them. I have seen so many people bring religion in to this, and the thing is… I know the bible says if someone wants something of yours… give it to them! It means nothing anyway. I have read it time and again. Not to mention one of the most used verses which is you who have not sinned may cast the first stone. As I said, I am not religious for my own reasons…but so many people are dragging religion and everything else into this.

To all the folks that keep saying “he was a criminal and deserved to die,” I have only one question for you…. Did you ever do anything in your childhood that you were not supposed to do? Did you ever succumb to peer pressure just that one time? Did you ever make a mistake in your life and do something you wish you could take back? Sadly this kid will never have the opportunity to learn from his mistake and regret it. He won’t have a story to tell his children and grandchildren about that one time when he stole beer out of a garage and was an idiot! Just a quick side note because I know that people are going to make all kinds of assumptions about me. Yes..I do own a gun! NO I am not a liberal! And I truly believe that the only time you should start shooting at anybody is if your life is being threatened. If someone is trying to kill you, then protect yourself if you choose to do so. But that was not the case here. I bet that if the homeowner had yelled at this kid in the garage and said, “Listen kid, I have a gun and I will use it if you don’t get out of here” the kid probably would have ran off. And then he would still be alive, and his parents wouldn’t have to cry themselves to sleep tonight.

 

I generally keep this a place of nonsense and ridiculousness. I usually have a really hard time getting into serious topics. I like to keep it funny and silly…but today I would like to get serious. I realize everyone has an opinion on things that happen in the world, and that can often lead into big arguments because of disagreements. I am not trying to change anyone’s mind about anything. I am simply voicing my opinion on this. I feel very connected to this story for a few reasons. This has hit close to home for me and so many others. This is just my opinion! Here is a link to the news story >> HERE <<

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Fearless Leader
    May 03, 2014 @ 12:58:01

    How damn sad.

    I shall refrain from further comment, except to say that the Gun Guy deserves whatever gets shoved up his ass while he is in prison.

    Reply

    • Vagina
      May 03, 2014 @ 13:05:11

      Thank you so much for commenting Toby! I appreciate it very much. I have missed you! Lately it seems like none of our stuff is getting seen by anyone. This story did bother me so much. I have teenagers and that could be why it gets to me. The kid shouldn’t have been there but holy shit….paying with his life is a bit extreme…

      Reply

  2. Fearless Leader
    May 03, 2014 @ 13:42:33

    I have missed you, too, Vag! 😀

    Reply

  3. El Guapo
    May 03, 2014 @ 15:39:29

    Every time I hear a story like this (and we hear them way too often), I’m amazed and thankful that none of the things I did as a kid ended up with any serious fallout.

    I really don’t understand some of the ways the the world changed.

    Reply

    • Vagina
      May 05, 2014 @ 10:29:41

      I completely agree with you El Guapo. It is very disturbing. We all have made mistakes in our lives. The part that is so upsetting is that it seems like some people have no caring for human life at all. This story has been the leading story for the last week and I can not believe some of the things people have said. It makes me wonder if there is any humanity left in the world. OY!

      Reply

  4. REDdog
    May 03, 2014 @ 19:41:55

    We live in a bit of a wild town Vag, guns are normal but Australian regulations make them a lot harder to get hold of here. Stories like this are a lot less common, shoot outs are usually two way and involve professional criminals not just some old fart with an attitude who can’t wait to confront some skinny teenager rummaging through his garage…what a wanker! I’m sure the hard guys inside who have their own teens on the outside will educate him. Peace be upon you and yours darl.

    Reply

    • Vagina
      May 05, 2014 @ 10:34:58

      Thanks REDdog! I have missed you also. I feel like everyone has gone away around here. It seems like the interwebz has been a lonely place lately. I agree with you also. We get a lot of foreign exchange students around here, and one guy from Germany had commented and said that he was going to send his kid over here in the foreign exchange program but after this he is now sending his kid to Australia. Not all Americans are like this douchewad!! But he does give Americans a bad name. You are so right though…it almost sounds like a damn shootout from the old west or something. Thank you so much for your kind words REDdog! It makes me feel better.

      Reply

      • REDdog
        May 05, 2014 @ 22:19:31

        I dunno if that German bloke has thought this whole thing through Vag, I mean, we’ve got animals way meaner down here that will do you in for far less than a six pack of beer! Sorry I went AWOL on you, I wish I could tell you it won’t happen again. Love yer shit anyway!

  5. Lisa
    May 03, 2014 @ 20:40:14

    Stories like this make me so sad. I’m glad you wrote about this, Heather. It needs to be said. I completely agree with you 100%. I don’t think I could add one more thing to this. You’ve said it better than I ever could. This could easily have been me as a kid. I did some reeeeally stupid things. This kid deserved to look back at this as a stupid thing too. Well said, Heather. I’m really sorry to hear this happened in your hometown. I’m glad you’re putting this out there. xoxoxoxo

    Reply

    • Vagina
      May 05, 2014 @ 10:38:12

      This thing has been bothering me so much as well as so many other people. I am sure that because I have teenagers myself is part of the reason it bothers me so much but also because i also did some stupid things when I was a teenager and thank god I had the chance to grow up and learn from my mistakes ya know. I really can not believe how some people think. It’s like the caring for human life is gone. I don;t know….it makes me sad.

      Reply

  6. Joy Christi
    May 07, 2014 @ 19:29:23

    UGH. That totally sucks. I have to read the story, I’m assuming the homeowner didn’t KNOW it was just a kid? Because it’s way too sickening if he did know. I wonder what happened to make the gun guy feel like he gets to decide who lives or dies. That is crazytown. I hope some sort of justice is served, but then again can it ever be? Who knows. That is terrible. I have made millions of stupid mistakes, no one should get to end a life over a mistake. I’m sorry that happened. Humans suck sometimes.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

LOUISE ALLAN

writer & author

Dadmissions

life surrounded by a wife and two girls

Cellulite Looks Better Tan

And Other Observations From My Soap Box.

Mental Defecation

My mind poops here

renegade mothering

tales of a wayward mama

Dances With Fat

Life, Liberty, and the Pursuit of Happiness are Not Size Dependent

Abby Has Issues

I have issues. So do you.

Nonsense & Shenanigans

Because who wants to make sense and behave, anyway?

Single Girl Blogging

I'm a single girl dating in Los Angeles. Sometimes. It's interesting.

The Apprehensive Vagina

Navigating a world of anxiety and sexual pain through humor and conversation.

TD421

Why aren't you at your post?

Veggiewitch

...adventures of a Crafter-Mama!

Why are you so AWESOME and I SUCK?!

I have struggled to be famous for over a decade. I have learned talent and hard-work are not key factors. This blog is dedicated to my pursuit in figuring out what it takes… to be famous.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Guapola

Crazy is relative. Just ask my relatives. And music!

Weird Woman Lives Past 40

My bumpy, messy, fattening, slutty, beautiful, simple life. Step into my panties...err parlour.

Crazy Good Parent

a digital community for people with mental health issues trying to be the best parents they can

