Why are You so Fat??!!~

 

couch

 

What a messed up world we live in. We all know it, deep down. Some may try to ignore it, others are out there changing it, but most of us, let’s be honest, rant about it. A good rant now and again can be helpful, to those hearing it and those saying it. My rant of choice? Obesity.

I was watching an episode of the wonderful television series House, one of my family’s favorite shows. The victim, always presented within the first five minutes of the show, was a ten-year-old little girl, an overweight outcast among her fellow gym students. She had no friends, was teased a lot, and suffered from serious self loathing regardless of her mother’s love and acceptance of her. It was the set up for a serious sob story.

As the doctor’s scrambled to figure out what was wrong with her, their opinions of the girl’s weight became clear. One doctor thought the girl needed understanding and compassion, while the other thought fat-shaming would do more good. This isn’t even what bugged me. All the doctor’s in the show say their opinions, argue about them, and sometimes their opinions are harsh. What bugged me was the ending. The little ten-year-old girl ended up having a medical issue that resulted in her weight gain. With one risky surgery, she would be back to normal, and even better, she would lose weight. What a happy ending, right? The little girl got to be thin after all. The fat-shaming doctor even complimented her.

As I said earlier, I love House, it is a great show, but is this really a good ending? It means that the writer or writers of the show sat down and thought, “What would be the happiest ending for this episode?” And the answer was that the girl became thin, just like everybody else. Wait a second, how is that the happy ending? Did she learn that she was fine the way she was? No. Did she learn that outward appearance is worth nothing if you aren’t a good person? No. Did the fat-shaming doctor learn to be more understanding? Nope. At least the mother in the show said that she was always fantastic, which was nice, but lost amongst the crap.

Now that you readers have an understanding of the episode, let me dig deeper. Those that think the chubby, the overweight, and the full-on fat people are gross or messed up, or think that fat-shaming is a solution to it all, I want to present you with some history. In early America, this country enslaved African Americans, and treated them horribly. Why? Because their skin was different. Within the same country, the supposed “land of the free”, women weren’t allowed to be educated, or allowed to vote. Why? Because they didn’t have penises. Better yet, let me bring up a really tough topic: Hitler. Oh yes, I am going there. Hitler and his brainless followers dubbed the Jewish people to be ugly. Dark hair or a slightly protruding nose were seen as wrong.

I love that we all look back at those times and think, “Ha! How stupid people were! We are soooo much more sophisticated now!” But, are we? Has anything changed? Those were cases of discrimination, and for the most stupid of reasons. Discrimination is still here, still present in so many ways. We haven’t evolved, not in the least. The only thing that’s different about us is that we have a long, long list of history to look to for advice, and we are ignoring it. Now how smart do you feel?

We shouldn’t be paying so much attention on how others look, it’s just ridiculous. When I was a kid, I was very, very shy. And, when I picked a friend, it wasn’t based on size, shape, color or whatever. I chose a friend if the person was nice to me. That’s it. It shouldn’t be any different when you grow up.

Oh, and though there are fat-shamers, there is another group that needs mentioning. The Falsely Concerned. These are the people that claim they say such rude things out of concern for the person’s health or well-being. Mm, yeah, no, I call bullshit. You are not concerned about the Hollywood celebrity that gained weight after her baby. You are not concerned for the plus size model in the photo shoot. And you certainly aren’t concerned for a stranger that you meet on the street. What you are doing is trying to make yourself feel better and more important by forcing your unwanted words into our ear canals or into our retinas. By sitting on your high horse of healthy foods, you’re acting like you’ve never tried a twinkie. Be serious, you were a kid once, you have had a fudging twinkie. Your bowels and lower intestines still stink, and what you put in the toilet is still shit, though it’s hard to tell the difference between that and what’s coming out of your mouth.

I think my rant just got weird… Anyway, the main thing I am trying to convey is that fat-shaming is wrong. Shaming of any sort is wrong. Our children should want to become scientists, or veterinarians, or chefs. Our children should want a better happily ever after than being thin.

 

 

This Guest Blogger sure does know how to rant! Well,…she learned from the best!  She got it from her Momma!! 🙂 This is the daughter of Vagina….literally if you think about it….

A video~

20 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Michelle
    Apr 08, 2014 @ 09:09:00

    Your daughter wrote that? Here I am thinking, “Vagina is just a better blogger than I could ever be. She conveys thoughts, feelings, imagery so well, and provides a damn good argument hitting all the major points people really can’t argue. This is one good writer right here.” And then I find out that’s not you. It’s not even a grown up. It’s not someone with years and years of experience. It’s a kid. Someone I couldn’t take out for beers though I was so ready to buy that person a drink a couple paragraphs ago. Sorry for that. I guess I’ll buy her a Coke. And did I mention WOW, just wow. I’m so sharing this. Everywhere. I love it too much not to.

    Reply

    • Vagina
      Apr 08, 2014 @ 09:14:01

      haha…Thanks! actually you could take her our for beer’s. She is 22. Not really a kid…but still my kid! 😉 She is a great writer. She is still in college and takes lots of writing classes. I usually have to ask her if I am using my “there, they’re, their’s” correctly. Sad I know!! Thanks for commenting Michelle, I ❤ you!!!

      Reply

  2. Joy in Comfytown
    Apr 08, 2014 @ 09:24:37

    Great points!! Especially about the falsely concerned. I cringe every time Project Runway has a “real women” challenge. Most of the designers are sooooo rude! I am also over the whole “People of Walmart” pictures. Enough already, you don’t know that person’s story or what their day was like.

    Reply

    • Vagina
      Apr 08, 2014 @ 09:33:34

      I agree!! You have no idea if that person needed to air out there buttcrack for a while! 😉 It happens ya know. There have been so many times when I am thinking…I look like shit today…I better go to Walmart instead of target! haha….There is a comfort level there ya know. I mean…some people take that comfort level a bit too far with no pants….but I get it. I hate pants too!! Thanks for commenting Joy!! I love you to pieces! ❤ ❤

      Reply

  3. El Guapo
    Apr 08, 2014 @ 09:28:32

    Hell Yes, DoV!
    Who cares about someone else’s shape, as long as they’re enjoying themselves.

    Reply

    • Vagina
      Apr 08, 2014 @ 09:37:01

      EXACTLY El Guapo!! Thanks for always coming back and reading and commenting. I appreciate it so much!! I’m glad I haven’t scared you away yet. It still could happen….This writing piece isn’t even mine…

      Reply

  4. Michelle
    Apr 08, 2014 @ 10:50:40

    22 still isn’t grown up. You don’t become a grown up until you wake up in a strip club with some random Marines and Mardi Gras Beads. Or something like that.

    Reply

  5. REDdog
    Apr 08, 2014 @ 18:24:42

    Vag, so what you’re saying is, not only are all the women in your family nuts, they’re all incredibly talented writers as well…I wanna do Christmas at your joint…probably with a GoPro strapped to me somewhere.

    p.s. If the sister of Vagina is Perineum then is the daughter Labia Minora?

    Reply

    • Vagina
      Apr 09, 2014 @ 09:38:24

      hahahahaha…Again you have me cracking up REDdog!! Labia Minora is PERFECT!! haha You know what…I actually got a really nasty mean comment on this post that was pure ignorance and I didn’t even let it post because of how unbelievably ignorant it was. Now that I am thinking about it though…I should have posted it and let you at him REDdog!! I bet you would have put that schmo in his place! 😉

      Reply

      • REDdog
        Apr 09, 2014 @ 09:41:35

        Please feel free to drag that shit outta your delete pile and I will happily recruit a troll…Nolle Fornicare Famillia

      • Vagina
        Apr 09, 2014 @ 18:23:56

        REDdog…. ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ You are getting hearts today!! Thank you my friend! ❤ The comment was so bad, I had to take a step back because I just can't believe the cruel nature of some people.

      • REDdog
        Apr 09, 2014 @ 18:46:30

        I’m sad for you that you have to navigate that stuff…you handle it way better than me, I think I’d probably just leave the net altogether

      • REDdog
        Apr 09, 2014 @ 18:48:14

        …oooh, but I love that I got hearts…I’ve secretly coveted hearts from you, so thanks for making my day Vag

  6. Lisa
    Apr 21, 2014 @ 20:36:07

    Like Mother like Daughter: brilliant!!! Well said, Daughter of Vagina! 🙂

    Reply

  7. Trackback: ‘Fat Shaming’ Lies and what’s really going on – Together let’s stop the pain | ~ Soul Rebalancing ~
  8. Trackback: ‘Fat Shaming’ and the Big Lie – Let’s stop the Pain (Part 1) | Liz Shewan Soul Rebalancing | Awareness, Healing, Art, Psychic Readings
  9. Trackback: ‘Fat Shaming’ and the Big Lie – Let’s stop the Pain (Part 2) | Liz Shewan Soul Rebalancing | Awareness, Healing, Art, Psychic Readings

Leave a Reply

LOUISE ALLAN

writer & author

Dadmissions

life surrounded by a wife and two girls

Cellulite Looks Better Tan

And Other Observations From My Soap Box.

Mental Defecation

My mind poops here

renegade mothering

tales of a wayward mama

Dances With Fat

Life, Liberty, and the Pursuit of Happiness are Not Size Dependent

Abby Has Issues

I have issues. So do you.

Nonsense & Shenanigans

Because who wants to make sense and behave, anyway?

Single Girl Blogging

I'm a single girl dating in Los Angeles. Sometimes. It's interesting.

The Apprehensive Vagina

Navigating a world of anxiety and sexual pain through humor and conversation.

TD421

Why aren't you at your post?

Veggiewitch

...adventures of a Crafter-Mama!

Why are you so AWESOME and I SUCK?!

I have struggled to be famous for over a decade. I have learned talent and hard-work are not key factors. This blog is dedicated to my pursuit in figuring out what it takes… to be famous.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Guapola

Crazy is relative. Just ask my relatives. And music!

Weird Woman Lives Past 40

My bumpy, messy, fattening, slutty, beautiful, simple life. Step into my panties...err parlour.

Crazy Good Parent

a digital community for people with mental health issues trying to be the best parents they can

