My Guest is super Bitchy!~ GUEST BLOGGER

couch

 

Who’s ready for a rant?… I thought so. Though, I don’t want to disappoint all you loyal Vagina readers out there, but this is not she. The voice you are hearing (words you are reading?) is that of Vagina’s sister. I am not going to try to come up with a clever nick name involving a body part. That conversation could get awkward… though I am fairly sure that my lovely sister would not shy away from the challenge. But if you guys are watchers of her videos (which, if you’re not, you totally should be!!! Do it now!) I am the “Creeper” found in the Shopping with Vagina’s Mom video that took place at Goodwill. Some background detail…. The Goodwill associates kept asking me if I was going to buy what I was wearing, except all of that: the sunglasses, the poncho, the hat are all mine and are currently sitting in my closet. So, go watch the video and come back and know how cool the person is you are listening (reading?) to is.

 

So, I told my sister quite sometime ago I would do a guest blog for her. She and I both share the same annoyances with social media. Much of what you have read or watched of her talking about Facebook spawns from conversations we seem to have on a regular basis. The rants got more frequent when she started this blog and I became a Communication major. (So, side note: The only reason the rants got more frequent for her is because she now spends much more time on social media hobnobbing with other bloggers, whom she loves. And she LOVES all her readers. But you must relate in that after so many hours on Face Book you start to get a little twitchy.) I am little more hardcore in that I REALLY hate all forms of social media yet am still an active user of it…and I hate myself. I have the FB app on my phone and I use it during times of boredom (generally during class, it’s a problem). But there is never anything interesting on there. I try to delete it, once went 6 months without it, but something always brings me back. But now to connect all this to why being a Communication Major has made my hate stronger.

 

The study of Communication (not CommunicationS) is the study of how people relate to other people. So, romantic relationships, work place interactions etc… One of my favorite subjects I have come across is that of friendships. I think it is because I finally knew that what I was feeling when it came to my friendships was completely normal. I am one of these people that has had a lot of other people come in and out of her life but only considers very FEW of them friends, the rest are close acquaintances. That sorta means that my friendships are some of the closest relationships I have to my heart and when they end I find my heart breaks much like someone else’s might when a romantic relationship ends. Social media has made more people experience this type of “friendship breakup”. Hold on now before you go disagreeing… let me make my case.

 

Years and years of studies have shown that the ending of romantic relationships is suppose to naturally end with a final cut off point. A time when both partners can look at a moment and say “yeah, that’s when we broke up.” Friendships naturally act differently. They slowly disintegrate without much notice. You may note not calling or texting them as much but if it doesn’t end in a huge fight, they usually just float away. But when you look back at the friendship, though it has ended, you usually don’t look back with bad memories. Think of your best friends during High School. Now take the fact that they are your Facebook friend out of the picture. Are they active in your life? Do you make phone calls checking up on their lives? Do your kids know them and associate them with you? When something big happens, are they on the top of your list of people to distinctly tell? (And not just the recipients of a FB status?)… If not, then they aren’t actively your friend. They are a past friend. Now don’t feel bad, it’s totally ok and NATURAL. This is how they are suppose to work. But with the introduction of social media and new technologies into our lives these relationship (or more accurately the ending of them) has changed. And I think for the worst.

 

I started my Facebook when was in high school. The group of people I had on there are a completely different group than I have now, with very few exceptions. But most people collect friends on FB as they go. In real life you may have stopped seeing this person but you still get their status updates and pictures of their lives on your newsfeed. This constant connection to a person that you were once close with but have naturally grown apart from can be hurtful to yourself. The friendship has not been allowed to disappear and take its proper place in your life as a lovely memory. It is instead thrown in your face day after day, however long you let that relationship go… even if you didn’t mean to or even if you did. Because now you have to officially end the relationship and create a cutting off point. You must DELETE them from your online life… and many of us don’t have the balls (Vagina? Yeah, I think my sister would prefer to use the term vagina for the strongest part of any human body) We don’t have the Vaginas do it. But, I finally did mine justice and started deleting people. However, its amazing how many people must check their friend lists on an hourly basis and I started getting friend requests back immediately. It’s the real world equivalent of finally closing your door on a person who barely knew it was open and then having them run up and start knocking and ringing your doorbell to let them in again. For a person like me (and I think most people who’ve actually done this) that is heart breaking.

 

This can be translated to Twitter and Instagram… you have to make the conscious choice to stop following the social media lives of this person and to cut them off from yours. Even cellphones have had their hand in this. We now have the lovely technology to transfer all the numbers and pictures and apps from our old phone to our new ones. Have you ever gone through your contact list and made a note of how many numbers you NEVER use anymore, of people you don’t talk to anymore? When I was young, I memorized the numbers of my best friends and if you weren’t my best friend anymore I didn’t call you as much and my brain would naturally forget your number. We are forced to watch the lives of people we once considered close. If your anything like me…its not always fun. Some people’s stories make me sad. I hate seeing where their lives are going. Or something about them made me want to get their negative influence out my life but there was no need to tell them directly… because they had mostly forgotten about me too but somehow they notice and force you to keep that negativity on your newsfeed. Or (most heart breaking) people I was terribly close with and am no longer in their actual lives and I see it moving and it makes me happy that they’re happy… but I MISS them. And if I didn’t have to see it every time I got on FB, I would think back and nostalgically miss them but now I actively miss them and its hard.

 

This effect of social media on our friendships has not had a lot of research done about it (In fact, I was told to go to grad school and study it… but at this point it will be a cold day in hell before I walk back into the education system again… OK, that’s a rant for a different day!!) But I can tell you it is annoying and sad and hard… but yet I still engage. I try to keep my friend list trim and only keep people in which I talk to currently or believe I will talk to again for one reason or another. But there are a couple that are there cause they just keep sending friend requests back or because I just don’t have the Vagina to do it… because I still love them and sometimes wish to see these people again even though I know I probably won’t. So, there it is. My BIGGEST complaint about social media. It’s annoying and I’ll probably delete it again… and then bring it back again. Its freaking addicting! But just so you know, if you’re feeling any of these ways, so is everybody else. But since none of us are getting rid of our profiles and twitter feeds, how about we all agree to stop posting political and religious rants, A different selfie everyday, Talking about how terrible your life is, or how absolutely amazing it is…Oh, and most importantly, no more TROLLING!… Or how about you just go and watch Vagina’s videos about people on Facebook and try not to be THOSE people. And thanks for listening to our rants! I look forward to your interesting and thought provoking comments 😉 (PS I only care about interesting and thought provoking comments.)

 

Here is the video that my super bitchy Guest Blogger is in! Check it out!~ What a creeper…;)

 

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. El Guapo
    Apr 01, 2014 @ 11:10:05

    Nice to meet you, undefined-body-part-guest!
    It’s also easy to just ignore people that post stuff I don’t want to read.

    I wonder how friendship will be redefined for those now growing up who never knew an unconnected world.

    Reply

    • Vagina
      Apr 01, 2014 @ 11:23:15

      El Guapo…thanks for reading and commenting on my undefined-body-part-sister’s-post!! 😉 I appreciate it! And WOW…I have never thought about it like that but you are right, friendship definitely means something different now as opposed to growing up in a time when people didn’t know what you were doing every second of every day. It changes things for sure. Social media has made it possible to know things about a person that you may never have known before. Like now you know how they feel about politics and religion and you may not have ever even officially talked to them in person, but you know they had hot dog’s for dinner and that they like ONLY ketchup…but you still have no idea what there REAL eye color is because of photoshop. Did I even make sense right there???

      Reply

  2. Vaginas Sister
    Apr 01, 2014 @ 12:58:50

    Thanks for commenting! I am said undefined body part guest sister. And yes, El Guapo, it is easy enough to ignore them but it still effects your relationship with that person. If you weren’t connected through the internet they would be no need to actively ignore. I also find that it can actually sour my feelings toward the person instead of just remembering the lovely past. But I admit that I do just that, ignore, most of the time. And yes lovely Vagina sister this does pose quite the change to the way relationships work… Example! There is a How I Met Your Mother episode where Ted and his blind date promise to not look mew mother up online before the date… Barney and Robin couldn’t help themselves and tormented Ted with the info because you no longer really get to know someone without FB stalking them first! I’m really good at that.

    Reply

  3. Joy Christi
    Apr 01, 2014 @ 14:45:18

    You make really good points here! It’s important to DELETE people we don’t want to make time for anymore. Though sometimes they are really funny to laugh at, when they post their ridiculous, horribly misspelled rants!
    This is why they have a “block” option, so you can take a break from their crap for awhile, and then decide if you officially want to un-friend them.
    It’s also a REALLY GOOD idea to delete phone numbers of people you dated after you, or they, decide you don’t want to date anymore. For one thing, then you’re not tempted to drunk dial/text and then if/when they ever call you again, you can HONESTLY say “I don’t know who this is.”
    Most people don’t delete though, for some unknown reason, and it makes social media really annoying. At least once or twice a month, I need to go “cyber-camping” and take a break from social media. Especially when a celebrity dies, or any of the other things that make everyone go cookoo pants.
    Great post! I hope you have many more guest spots and/or start your own blog!

    Reply

  4. REDdog
    Apr 01, 2014 @ 16:24:27

    HAHAAAAAA! Holy shit Vag, are all the women in your family nuts? I snorked out loud when your Mum was flipping you the bird, and I thought your creeper was gonna start dry-humping your leg. Hooooo boy, you guys are great…now I’m going back to read Perineum’s stuff (I figured Perineum because she’s very close to Vagina)

    Reply

    • Vagina
      Apr 02, 2014 @ 09:22:55

      hahahahahhahaahahaha…Oh REDdog…that was good!! Perineum!!! HILARIOUS!!! That might have to be her new name from now on. hahaha…. and YES….ALL the women in my family are totally and completely CRAZY!!! 😉

      Reply

  5. Vaginas Sister
    Apr 01, 2014 @ 18:41:44

    Joy! Glad you liked it. You make all very good points. “Cyber camping ” is a great term. A def need when a celebrity dies… It gets cray on there! And thanks for the vote of confidence! Hopefully I my lovely sister will let me do some more ranting one day… As for starting my own blog… I don’t know May just leave it to the professionals. LoL And REDdog, yes we are all nuts. It makes for very interesting family dinners 😉

    Reply

  6. Fearless Leader
    Apr 03, 2014 @ 12:22:13

    For a split second, I read the video title as “Shopping With Mom’s Vagina”. For that same split second, I was thinking, “This could be very interesting.”

    Also, Mom is hawt.

    Undefined Body Part is a snazzy dresser. And a cutie pie.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

LOUISE ALLAN

writer & author

Dadmissions

life surrounded by a wife and two girls

Cellulite Looks Better Tan

And Other Observations From My Soap Box.

Mental Defecation

My mind poops here

renegade mothering

tales of a wayward mama

Dances With Fat

Life, Liberty, and the Pursuit of Happiness are Not Size Dependent

Abby Has Issues

I have issues. So do you.

Nonsense & Shenanigans

Because who wants to make sense and behave, anyway?

Single Girl Blogging

I'm a single girl dating in Los Angeles. Sometimes. It's interesting.

The Apprehensive Vagina

Navigating a world of anxiety and sexual pain through humor and conversation.

TD421

Why aren't you at your post?

Veggiewitch

...adventures of a Crafter-Mama!

Why are you so AWESOME and I SUCK?!

I have struggled to be famous for over a decade. I have learned talent and hard-work are not key factors. This blog is dedicated to my pursuit in figuring out what it takes… to be famous.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Guapola

Crazy is relative. Just ask my relatives. And music!

Weird Woman Lives Past 40

My bumpy, messy, fattening, slutty, beautiful, simple life. Step into my panties...err parlour.

Crazy Good Parent

a digital community for people with mental health issues trying to be the best parents they can

