F A T ~

I have, on occasion, tried to get a bit more serious with my writing. I love to write. I have always loved to write, but as all of you beautiful moms out there know, those little people have tendencies of taking up a lot of our time, so things get put on hold for a while. Anyway…I was reading something the other day about Jennifer Lawrence’s eating habits. Someone literally wrote an entire story about what this girl eats. I didn’t even think it was possible to write an entire story about the eating habits of another person. The first thing that came to my mind was….why does anybody care what another person is eating? Why is this a thing? As a girl raised in America, like so many others, I have been bombarded with the images of skinny girls that wear next to nothing.  I try very hard to not be a judgmental person. I live by the motto…”Live and let Live.” Everyone has a right to be who they are, and do as they do and not be judged for it. But… we have this whole media thing that shoves ideas in our faces about what perfection is. What normal is. What you are suppose to achieve to be successful. Why does anybody think they have a right to tell another person what is successful? We all have our road. It will never be the same as another’s. All of the things I have experienced in my life have brought me to where I am right at this moment. No other person can have an understanding of where I am at because it is my experience and my road. That is the reason that judgement is such a bullshit thing! The truth is, when you spend your time looking at other people and thinking that they are “wrong” or should be doing things different..then really it probably says more about you than anything. How can anyone fix themselves, enjoy their own journey, or come to a place of understanding if they are spending all their time focused on what someone else is doing? You can NEVER understand why another person does something unless you are them!! It is impossible to judge someone without knowing what is, first of all, going on in their life, or what is going on in their head, or in their heart. My favorite is when people judge another person for the EXACT same thing that they have done. That is always fun! To have someone tell you that you are “wrong” yet you clearly remember when they themselves had done the very same thing they are judging you for. Whatever. I realize this is the way things are. This is the world we live in. Everyone is looking at everyone else and judging. The thing is, everything we think is just that…nothing more than thoughts. They mean nothing! Only to the person having them. Everything is a thought. That’s it. Anyone can think whatever they want….it doesn’t make it true and it changes nothing. It means nothing. So why not make your thoughts AMAZING!!!! Instead of looking at what someone else is doing or not doing, make your thoughts about what YOU are doing or not doing. Look within….change what you want to change about yourself instead of wanting to change others. Because life will change others. Their experiences and journey will change them on it’s own. NOT judgement coming from people. If you were to go up to an alcoholic, and call them an alcoholic, do you think they would stop? Do you think they didn’t already know? This applies to anything in life. We all know ourselves and what we do more than anyone else. I have daughters, and this country we live in is so enamored by Thin. To be thin is to be praised. I always think of those pictures of Hollywood women at those glamorous parties that have tables full of the most amazing exotic food, yet no one is touching the food. But that is the way it is. You are praised when you can sit next to a bunch of delicious food and not eat it. Why does anybody care what another person is eating anyway? I still can not understand this. Being healthy is important, I agree, but when is it anybody else’s business to decide whether someone is healthy or not just by looking at them? It goes back to this judging thing. How can anyone judge someone based on such little information? Just because a person has weight on them, does not make them unhealthy. No one has the right to assume that. I worry about my daughters so much because I know this judgement is out there. I want them to be happy, and healthy, and successful in all that they do. I have 4 kids, and have raised them all the same.  My little one is a lover of snacks. She always has been. When she was a baby and I would be breast feeding her, she would be in a dead snooze and I would start to take my boob out of her mouth and she would wake up instantly, grab it and shove it back in her mouth. This is who she is. She likes to snack. I too like to snack. My mom is exactly the same way, she happens to be one of these people that get’s up in the middle of the night and snacks straight out of the fridge, and she is rail thin! I eat between meals sometimes. I just do that. SO FUCKING WHAT!! Why the hell does anybody care that I like to eat chips and salsa at 11:30 at night. I can tell you that when it comes to exercize I am a friggin BOSS! I run 5 miles a day, and on top of that I do Taebo, or Zumba, or something like that. I just don’t eat right. I eat salads and veggies a lot, but I eat shitty a lot too. I happen to LOVE chocolate, and I love it even more when it is covered in peanut butter.  This is literally who I am!! I like junk food sometimes. And just for a side note, I am positive I have a six pack. I work on that shit every day. I just choose to be one of these folks that doesn’t want to keep it sitting out in the open. I mean….I could damage my six pack if I walked around with it just sitting on top of my stomach like that so I choose to  keep it safe under a layer…or two…or maybe three of fat. I can tell you nothing is going to harm my six pack…It’s nice and safe in there!! but…I have gotten off subject again so I digress.

 

There is so much written about what you should eat and what you shouldn’t eat and when you should and shouldn’t eat and on and on. I NEVER buy soda. My kids don’t drink it. We NEVER eat fast food. I do not take my kids to Mcdonalds. I am not against it…we just don’t eat there much at all. I breast fed my kids and never gave them formula. (According to statistics, these are the things you need to do so that your kids do not become overweight.) You know what.. people look at my little munchkin and assume she eats Mcdonalds and drinks soda because she happens to be chunkier than my other kids. She is adorable and cute, and I love this child to pieces, and yet she is judged by others just because of the way she looks. Nothing pisses me off more!!! My little girl has never even had soda in her life, and yet other people assume they know exactly how she is being raised. My son who is a gangly boy and hates veggies (getting him to try a carrot is like pulling teeth) is boney as can be and yet my little girl who is considered “chubby” will eat an entire plate of broccoli.  The other day, I read a post that literally broke my heart. Some guy posted about an obese woman and her fat child and how disgusted fat children make him. He basically said he hates fat kids and it is all the mother’s fault and they should just go away. This post did nothing more than show how judgmental and inhuman he is. It seems so easy to judge someone on their weight and say something mean about it, especially if you have not had this issue in your life. When something is presented in your life, and shows up in YOUR backyard…only then does it become harder to judge. When it is YOUR child that is gay, or overweight, or an alcoholic, or addicted to drugs, or addicted to anything, then it becomes something that you now have in your world, and to judge others becomes much more difficult. By the Way….my dog is gay as fuck, so you know what I did…I bought him a rainbow sweater and he wears that thing LOUD and PROUD!!! He is who he is….No judgement here.

 

gay dog

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Fearless Leader
    May 24, 2013 @ 10:13:16

    Word.

    Reply

  2. caffeinejitters
    May 24, 2013 @ 11:33:53

    I agree, people need to stop judging others without thinking… And I love the gay dog! You have a great way of balancing humor and seriousness. Love it!

    Reply

  3. List of X
    May 24, 2013 @ 23:37:50

    FYI, I’ve noticed your blog in theindiechicks contest nominations, and voted for you. You are ok with that kind of judging, right? 🙂

    Reply

    • Vagina
      May 25, 2013 @ 09:41:49

      List of X,
      JUDGE AWAY!!! 😉 and thank you. I appreciate it very much. I may have gone off on a bit of a tangent with this post. I remember you wrote something about that in your top 10 things you noticed about bloggers. Again…you would be correct! 🙂

      Reply

  4. Yolanda Celi
    May 25, 2013 @ 00:50:16

    Totally makes sense! We all live in glass houses. I like the six-pack thing. That was funny!

    Reply

  5. Criss
    May 25, 2013 @ 07:30:41

    Another excellent post woman. Right on. Life is too short to be all bitchy over everyone else. Be happy with yourself, and love who you are and others will pick up on that too and love you too, and maybe, just maybe they will learn from you and love themselves too.

    There are many reasons why we have different body shapes. Sometimes it’s drugs for an illness we have that packs on the kilos as a side-effect. It happens. It happened to me. 10 bloody kilos, and I eat fruit and veg, and juice my own juices, and I do have choc, but as far as chips, and crisps go they upset my tummy so I don’t eat them.

    I am FAT. People who look at me think I am lazy and eat shit. I have PCOS, and now a serious back injury which has stopped me from being able to exercise. I eat healthy, and anyone else eating like me would be super trim. I have been told to accept myself, and BE HAPPY.

    I have perfect health. All my yearly tests come back excellent. So you really can’t judge a book by it’s cover.

    AWESOME STORY. WELL PUT, and I love that you have a happy dog! 🙂

    Reply

    • Vagina
      May 25, 2013 @ 09:46:34

      Criss,
      Thank you very much for your comment. I completely agree with you that no one can really judge a situation without having all the information. And even then, it really becomes no one else’s business what we choose to do. I do not always make the best choices when it comes to food, but it is MY choice. No one else should really care at all anyway. As long as you are happy, that is all that matters. I really can not stand it when people assume someone is lazy because they are overweight. How can anyone tell that just by looking at someone anyway! Thank you so much for always reading. I love your comments. 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

LOUISE ALLAN

Life from the attic

Dadmissions

life surrounded by a wife and two girls

Cellulite Looks Better Tan

And Other Observations From My Soap Box.

Mental Defecation

My mind poops here

renegade mothering

tales of a wayward mama

Dances With Fat

Life, Liberty, and the Pursuit of Happiness are Not Size Dependent

Abby Has Issues

I have issues. So do you.

Nonsense & Shenanigans

Because who wants to make sense and behave, anyway?

Single Girl Blogging

I'm a single girl dating in Los Angeles. Sometimes. It's interesting.

The Apprehensive Vagina

Navigating a world of anxiety and sexual pain through humor and conversation.

TD421

Why aren't you at your post?

Veggiewitch

...adventures of a Crafter-Mama!

Why are you so AWESOME and I SUCK?!

I have struggled to be famous for over a decade. I have learned talent and hard-work are not key factors. This blog is dedicated to my pursuit in figuring out what it takes… to be famous.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Guapola

Crazy is relative. Just ask my relatives. And music!

Weird Woman Lives Past 40

My bumpy, messy, fattening, slutty, beautiful, simple life. Step into my panties...err parlour.

Crazy Good Parent

a digital community for people with mental health issues trying to be the best parents they can

