Facebook Whore!

facebook engancha

Why am I addicted to facebook when it drives me nuts? I could actually say the same thing about Walmart…( that is another post though). I guess that is the way addictions work. You keep going back for more, even when the more isn’t completely satisfying. There must be something in it that keeps me going back. What is it? What is that pull? I can tell you that when I get on facebook, and see the same old stuff…The depressed post…( my life sucks FML), The food post( just ate at ….. and it was the best),  the relationship post ( My husband is the BEST EVER because he just bought me a NEW CAR and you all have to drive old cars….so be jealous),…the Mom post ( my kid rocks…HONOR ROLL BITCHES), or the 100th pic of your sweet little munchkin doing the same thing they were doing on the 50th picture…but they are wearing blue instead of purple. We also have the ever dreaded Religious/ Political posts that I know everybody just can not wait to see on their newsfeed! The wonderful bible versus…or “I hate the president” pictures. Does anybody really think those are making a difference in the world?…( usually posts on Facebook aren’t doing anything but showing people what you think!) ACTION is going out and involving yourself in whatever the thing is that you feel so strongly about….and FYI….signing a petition on facebook is NOT signing a petition.  Anyway….I am at fault for at least half, if not more of these Facebook gems! I know it’s true. I get it!! As a mom we want to share our beautiful kids with everyone so they can see all the cute things we get to see….or maybe your having a bad day, and just venting a little on FB makes you feel better, or possibly just having someone comment “Hang in there”makes you feel like someone cares. At the same time….FB can have an opposite effect and cause some seriously hurt feelings. I have witnessed some heated fights going down for something as simple as a post about what a kid learned in their college class that day. Although it is a great place to be able to be open about how you feel about topics, or what is important to you….people forget that just because you are sitting behind a screen doesn’t mean that it is okay to lose all sense of respect or be decent as a person. It’s the same way people are in a car. For some reason that barrier makes people lose all sense of humanity in a way. Think about if you were face to face with that person…would you say what you are getting ready to type? Would you sit there and show them 5 million pictures of your kids, or pull out the bible and read every damn scripture in there? Probably not. I am all for standing up for what you believe in…but not at the cost of completely losing your decency.  Facebook makes it easy to be cruel, and senseless just by the click of a button and then you move on to the next thing. It is suppose to be a  place that we can connect with each other, share with each other, and ultimately help each other out by keeping things real, and on a level of equality, and understanding for each other…NO matter the differences in beliefs or lives, or whatever it is that a person does. It is for sharing! I am a firm believer in – “understanding others will help you to become whole!” Instead of feeling angry because someone didn’t agree with you…you can maybe have a conversation about the differences that compliment each other, and actually LEARN something from each other. Facebook is a GREAT tool for doing just that. Not always used that way though. I am without a doubt a facebook whore. NO QUESTION!! I get super butt hurt when people don’t like my stuff. WHY you ask?? I don’t friggin know…other than everybody wants to be recognized…or understood somehow. SO, basically the point of this whole story is that you need to go and like my facebook page….because I will be butt hurt if you don’t…

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. List of X
    Mar 20, 2013 @ 17:48:33

    You know, I didn’t just make fun of WordPress posts, I made fun of Facebook posts too, and was irritated by a lot of the same things you’ve noticed:
    http://armyofawesomepeople.com/2013/01/09/10-things-i-would-never-do-on-facebook-and-neither-should-you/

    Reply

    • hdfloyd73
      Mar 20, 2013 @ 19:34:45

      I LOVE it!! Yes to everything you said. Sadly I am at fault for doing many of those things….but hey…Now that I have started a blog, I can be equally annoying over here at WordPress! 😉 Thank you for being one of my first followers on here. When I become super famous…You will be at the top of the list of my thank you’s! 🙂

      Reply

      • List of X
        Mar 20, 2013 @ 21:12:25

        Thank you. I actually prefer WordPress to FB. At least here you are not required to look at photos of somebody’s food just because you happened to meet that person once. 🙂

      • hdfloyd73
        Mar 20, 2013 @ 21:29:41

        hahaha…YES! I agree. I am definitely falling into the wordpress trap. I am enjoying my time over here so much more than FB. This may be my New addiction. 🙂

      • List of X
        Mar 20, 2013 @ 21:30:45

        I must warn you though, WP takes much, much more of your time than FB.

      • hdfloyd73
        Mar 20, 2013 @ 21:41:22

        No need to warn, I have officially figured that out! :/ The pull is strong with WordPress. Every time I walk away…okay, let’s face it, I’m not really walking away! There is some really great blogs on here…YOURS topping that list. I want to read it all, of course I just need more time. Of which I don’t have…but will give anyway, and suffer for later! Such is life…;)

      • List of X
        Mar 20, 2013 @ 21:45:29

        Thank you for the compliment, and I could recommend a few blogs to take me off the top 🙂 That is, if you have the time to read more 🙂

      • hdfloyd73
        Mar 20, 2013 @ 21:49:33

        I will take any recommendation from you. I love your blog, so recommend away! It still won’t take you off the top! 🙂 but I will need some more time…

      • List of X
        Mar 22, 2013 @ 00:27:56

        and luckily, I need some time to pick out my favorites 🙂

Leave a Reply

LOUISE ALLAN

Life from the attic

Dadmissions

life surrounded by a wife and two girls

Cellulite Looks Better Tan

And Other Observations From My Soap Box.

Mental Defecation

My mind poops here

renegade mothering

tales of a wayward mama

Dances With Fat

Life, Liberty, and the Pursuit of Happiness are Not Size Dependent

Abby Has Issues

I have issues. So do you.

Nonsense & Shenanigans

Because who wants to make sense and behave, anyway?

Single Girl Blogging

I'm a single girl dating in Los Angeles. Sometimes. It's interesting.

The Apprehensive Vagina

Navigating a world of anxiety and sexual pain through humor and conversation.

TD421

Why aren't you at your post?

Veggiewitch

...adventures of a Veggie-Artist-Mama!

Why are you so AWESOME and I SUCK?!

I have struggled to be famous for over a decade. I have learned talent and hard-work are not key factors. This blog is dedicated to my pursuit in figuring out what it takes… to be famous.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Guapola

Crazy is relative. Just ask my relatives. And music!

Weird Woman Lives Past 40

My bumpy, messy, fattening, slutty, beautiful, simple life. Step into my panties...err parlour.

Crazy Good Parent

a digital community for people with mental health issues trying to be the best parents they can

